On My Record Player Part 10

Whitney Houston – Whitney Houston (1985)

I picked this little gem up at a thrift store in Norfolk around 2005  for $1 when I started collecting records. The main reason I was compelled to buy this and listen to it was the connection it had in the movie American Psycho where “The Greatest Love of All” is played in a scene with Christian Bales’s character listening to it and analyzing why the song is a masterpiece that is under-appreciated for its important message. Either way, I am a big fan of a lot of pop music from the 1980’s and Whitney Houston is definitely one of the most talented of the era. This was her debut album and it shows an artist who is hungry and wants to showcase her gift. Listening to “Saving All My Love For You” is a real treat for me. Her conviction in this song is so honest and heartfelt it almost brings tears to my eyes. What a classic, this is as romantic as it gets in my book. I don’t think anyone else could have pulled it off like she did at this early part of her career. This record is just filled with hits. “How Will I Know?” is one of my favorite songs of all time. It is such a joy to hear this again after many years. As I listen to it, I can say this is one of my most joyful moments since I began my record review blogs. I love the innocence and excitement of this song, this just sounds like the incredible feeling of that early stage of a very special romance being created. Oh to be in love… Brilliant! I forgot how amazing this album is. Great hooks, and that voice. Where did this girl come from? The feeling you can hear in her voice is what I wish every human being could feel in their lives. “All at Once” is sublimely genuine and hauntingly beautiful. There are a few duets with Jermaine Jackson that are alright, but don’t compare to her solo work. The album closes with the song that inspired so many and gave people the courage to accomplish their dreams. “The Greatest Love of All” speaks profoundly about believing in yourself and Whitney sings this with incredible passion and the declaration of inspiration.

Leave a Reply

