On My Record Player Part 16

Rage Against The Machine – People of the Sun EP (1998)

Bruce Springsteen said that listening to Bob Dylan’s “Like a Rolling Stone” with the snare shot that sounded like somebody had kicked open the door to your mind. This was how I felt in late 1997, early 1998 when I first heard Bulls on Parade. I had never in my life heard music before that was both attractive and serious. Full of color and attention. It was my late friend Barry Lawrence who introduced me to Evil Empire and cultivated my obsession with Rage. This music is why I began learning to play guitar and made it so much fun. I didn’t care that much about the politics, but I liked the performance aspect of the subject matter and the propaganda that goes with it. The image of Che Guevara just has a very gravitating force to it that captures your interest to the meaning of the music. My eyes and ears are very easy to focus attention on pretty things, but it takes intelligence to really focus on the message and communication of artists that get noticed in the first place. I just think it is funny that Rage has so many pretty things to hear and look at while they have very serious subject matter to their work and influences. Cheers to overtime Washington Redskins vs New Orleans Saints. Go Redskins!!!!

Leave a Reply

